Originally posted on Writing for Nature:

I love nature, but as a terrestrial primate, I have a love of tools as well.  A simple knife is usually enough for me, with that I can make nearly anything else, given enough time, but I like other tools as well; rope, cameras, and computers to name a few.

I am often teased for the tools I carry (I have full pockets), but the teasing is usually good natured as I use all the tools I carry on a regular basis and others often benefit from my tool use.  One of the tools I carry is a smartphone, an iPhone to be specific.  What I like best about it is not the phone aspect, but the computer aspect.  It is a surprisingly versatile  field science and reference tool, even setting aside the ability to go online from the field.

People often ask me what apps I use, so I…

View original 1,953 more words

One response to “

  1. I came here expecting something else, but this enthused me regardless. Enlightening stuff!

Leave a Reply

